The fees listed in this Catalog are those in effect at the time of publication. Fees are subject to change at any time by action of Federal or State statute, the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, or the San Mateo County Community College District Board of Trustees. A list of fees is published in each semester’s Class Schedule and is available on WebSMART.
All fees marked with an “*” are waived for Concurrent High School Students enrolled in less than 11.5 units.
Estimated fees paid by the student may be claimed for a tax credit. A 1098-T will be available on WebSMART in January for the prior year’s tax information.
A state-mandated enrollment fee of $46 per unit is payable by all students. The enrollment fee is calculated each semester based upon the student’s combined enrollments at Skyline College, Cañada College, and/or the College of San Mateo.
The Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges has established the California College Promise Grant (formely known as the BOGFW) to help students pay the enrollment fee. Information on eligibility requirements, application deadlines, and application forms are available on WebSMART under “Financial Aid”. Students classified as nonresidents of the State of California must pay an additional non nonresident fee. See details under “Nonresident Tuition Fee.”
Enrollment Fee - Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Care*
All Students that are new graduates and have completed a CoARC accredited Respiratory Care program equivalent to an A.S. in Respiratory Care and are California licensure eligible or Respiratory Care Practitioners who have completed a CoArc accredited Respiratory Care program equivalent to an A.S. in Respiratory Care and are California licensure eligible and accepted into the Bachelor of Science Respiratory Care program at Skyline College will pay $130 per unit for upper division coursework. Students eligible for the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) will only waive $46 per unit and total cost to the student is $84 per unit.
Health Services Fee*
All students, except those enrolled ONLY in off-campus, weekend or Distance Learning courses, are required to pay $20 for each Fall & Spring semester and $17 for Summer session. This fee provides campus health services and medical coverage for injuries incurred while the student is on campus or attending an off-campus, College-sponsored event.
Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination or organization may be exempted from paying the Health Services Fee. A petition for a Health Services Fee exemption may be obtained from the Admissions & Records Office. The fee is not covered by the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) and is not refundable unless an action of the college prevents the student from attending.
Student Representation Fee*
This fee of $1 per student per semester was established by an election of the student body of Skyline College. Under applicable provisions of the California Education Code, the students established the fee by a two-thirds majority of the students who voted in the election. The money collected through the Student Representation Fee will be expended to provide support for students or their representatives who may be stating their positions and viewpoints before city, county and district government, as well as before offices and agencies of local, State and Federal governments. A student has the right to refuse to pay the Student Representation Fee for religious, political, moral or financial reasons. A petition to waive the fee may be obtained at The Center for Student Life and Leadership Development Office. The fee is not covered by the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) and is not refundable unless an action of the college prevents the student from attending.
Non-Resident Tuition Fee
Students who do not qualify as California residents as determined by the California
Education Code must pay Non-resident Tuition fees. Refer to the current Class Schedule
or the Fees link on the Skyline College website for the current fee rate. The Office
of Admissions and Records determines residency status at the time of admission. Refer
to “Determination of Residency” in the Admission section of this Catalog for more
International (F-1 Visa) students pay the Non-resident Tuition, a nominal capital outlay fee, and the Enrollment fees.
International Student (F-1 Visa) Health Insurance
Required of international students without the required level of private health insurance.
Student Body Fee (Optional)*
All students, except for students enrolled ONLY in off- campus, weekend or Distance Learning courses, are assessed the Student Body Fee. The Student Body Fee of $15 per semester (Fall & Spring only) is automatically assessed and is payable at the time of registration. Students who pay the fee receive an Associated Student Body card which entitles them to special discounts at local businesses, movie theaters, shops, restaurants, and for some on-campus products and services. All fees must be paid in full to receive a student ID. Funds collected also help support student clubs, events, services and scholarships. Students who choose to waive the fee must contact The Center for Student Life and Leadership Development Office by the deadline listed in the Class Schedule printed each semester. The fee is not covered by the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) and is not refundable unless an action of the college prevents the student from attending.
Student Union Fee*
Students will be assessed a Student Union Fee of $1 per unit up to a maximum of $5 per semester (Fall and Spring only). Funds collected will be used to support the operation, maintenance and refurbishment of the Student Union. The assessment of this fee was authorized by a vote of the Skyline College Student Body in February 2001. The fee is not covered by the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) and is not refundable unless an action of the college prevents the student from attending.
Parking Permit Fee
Skyline College is committed to keeping the campus as accessible as possible to the
community. The Public Safety Office applies strict and fair application of all parking
All persons driving an automobile, truck or van who utilize campus parking facilities during scheduled class hours and final examination periods are required to pay a parking permit fee. Motorcycles are excluded from this requirement if parked in designated motorcycle parking. Students enrolled exclusively in weekend or off-campus classes are exempt.
Parking options are as follows:
- $54 for each semester (Fall or Spring)
- $98 for a Two-Term Permit (Fall and Spring)
- $27 for the Summer Session
- $3 for one day parking permits available at daily permit dispensers in Parking Lots C, F, L1, L2, N (adjacent to the perimeter road) and P. Refer to the campus map for dispenser locations.
- Visitor pay-by-space parking is available in lots D and M.
- Accepted forms of payments at each lot
- Lot C - bills or coins
- Lot D - bills or coins
- Lot F - bills or coins
- Lot L1 - credit cards, bills or coins
- Lot L2 - credit cards, bills or coins
- Lot M - credit cards, bills or coins
- Lot N- credit cards or coins
- Lot L1 - credit cards or bills
- Parking fees are nonrefundable unless an action of the College (e.g., cancellation of all of the student’s classes) prevents the student from attending.
- There are NO refunds for lost, stolen or damaged permits. Replacement of any lost or stolen permit is at full cost to the student.
- Parking permits may be transferred from one vehicle to another.
Disabled Student Parking
Physically disabled students who drive vehicles to campus must have a valid state-issued DMV placard or license plate. For these students, no parking permit is required. Disabled parking is available in student or staff lots. For further information, contact the Disability Resource Center at (650) 738-4280.
The College allows auditing of courses with the exception of courses in programs that require special preparation and/or program admission on a limited basis. Students requesting to Audit a course and receive the California College Promise Grant (CCPG) are responsible to pay for fees and the CCPG will not be applied to the student account.
An official transcript summarizing a student’s complete academic record of course work taken at Cañada College, College of San Mateo, and Skyline College will be sent directly to colleges, employers, and other agencies upon request by the student. Transcripts should be requested through WebSMART. Transcripts from high schools and other colleges will not be forwarded. The first two transcripts requested are free. There is a $5 fee for each transcript requested after the first two. For additional information, contact the Transcript Department in the Office of Admissions and Records at (650) 738-4255.
Returned Check Fee
A fee of $20 is charged for each returned check.
Please note that fees are subject to change at any time by action of the State Legislature, Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, or the District Board of Trustees.